The Wagon Hotel (later called the Battlefield Hotel), shown circa 1886, stood at the corner of Baltimore Street and Emmitsburg Road. It was a popular place to stay for returning veterans 130 years ago. Soon the streets in this view were lined with shops whose wares appealed to increasing numbers of tourists. Over the past decade, these streets and shops have undergone dramatic changes through revitalization to create beautiful and vibrant neighborhoods.

Did you know?

In 1863, Union forces occupied the hotel, punching holes in the roof to fire at Confederate soldiers.


About Author

Jessica Dean

Born and raised in Adams County, Pennsylvania, Jessica and her husband, Troy, created Celebrate Gettysburg magazine in 2007. Before starting the publication, Jessica was the art director for Frederick Magazine, a successful regional publication based in Frederick, Maryland. She was the president for the AIGA Blue Ridge chapter and has won numerous awards for her graphic design. Always eager to give back to the community, Jessica has helped to promote many local activities and has volunteered her design services to a variety of regional nonprofit organizations. She lives in downtown Gettysburg with her family.

Leave A Reply